After showing my research in progress to the group I’m now aware that I have found a large amount of information covering a range of ideas all focusing around the idea of online representation and identity construction. I must now start reading through it all, narrowing my focus and drawing some conclusions in preparation for my presentation on the 28th March.

While I want the majority of my focus to be on the self-portraits and images we post for all to see on MySpace, I also want to provide some background to the social networking phenomenon and also look, in general, at how we represent ourself and construct our identity through the profiles we create and the text we add. I think this approach will give a better overview to my ideas and put my self-portrait research into context.

For now, I’m going to focus on going over all the essays, links and blog entries I have cited, picking out relevant information that I can use in my presentation and honing my research.

